Athletic Awards Banquet 2016

Athletic Awards Banquet 2016

Farragut held the annual Athletic Awards Day ceremonies on May 19 in the Huntley Gymnasium. Award winners, selected by the coaches and the student athletes, are honored at the event.

More pictures of event: (photography by Danielle Antonucci)

Varsity Boys Soccer

Varsity Boys Soccer

  • The ORIE T. BANKS AWARD is presented annually to the best senior athlete who has demonstrated excellence in the competitive environment. Named after the former dean of students at Farragut, the Orie T. Banks Award for 2016 was presented to Alex Gray for outstanding performance in boys track and field and football, and Corynn Miner for outstanding performance in girls basketball and softball.
  • The GRIME MEMORIAL AWARD is presented annually to the cadet contributing the most to the athletic department. The Grime Memorial Award was given to Jack Lescarbeau as the male representative and Maiya Fudge as the female representative.
  • The JOHN M. VANDORFORD AWARD is presented annually to an outstanding athlete on the male and female sides of the underclassmen corps of cadets. Named in honor of the former director of admissions at Farragut, the John M. Vandorford Award was presented to Trevor Bennati for his accomplishments in soccer and baseball and Katie Barnett for her accomplishments in cross country and track and field.
  • Hunter McCann (male) and Jhonnelle Young (female) were the respective recipients of the AAC Scholarship Award.
  • The Lower School Athlete of the Year was presented to Dylan Rice (male) and Kristina Hartley (female).

Varsity Boys Swimming

MVP – Zach Fine

Coach’s Award – Dylan Rice

Varsity Girls Swimming

MVP – Sarah Weiss

Coach’s Award – Camille Walker

Varsity Golf

MVP – Jack Lescarbeau

Coach’s Award – Hunter Morgan

Varsity Cross Country

MVP – Hunter McCann

Coach’s Award – Alex Oi

Varsity Cross Country Girls

MVP – Brooke Liu

Varsity Volleyball

MVP – Anastasha Worlds

Coach’s Award – Elizabeth Gaskins

Varsity Football

MVP – Dontell Green

Coach’s Award – Craig Watts Jr.

Varsity Girls Basketball

MVP – Ashaunti Brown

Coach’s Award – Maiya Fudge

Varsity Boys Basketball

Co-MVP – Zach Fine, Cross Mehann

Coach’s Award – Kevin Gordon

Varsity Girls Soccer

Co-MVP – Sydni Bostick, Gabriella Spinelli

Coach’s Award – Elizabeth Gaskins

Varsity Boys Soccer

Co-MVP – Kaan Gezen, JC Scherer

Coach’s Award – Alex Fiorillo, George Dyche

Varsity Wrestling

MVP – Noah Farrelly

Coach’s Award – Trayvon Taylor

Varsity Baseball

MVP – Wyatt Pascual

Coach’s Award – Michael Cooney

Varsity Lacrosse

MVP – Owen Geis

Coach’s Award – James Sands

Varsity Girls Tennis

MVP – Bianca DeSilva

Coach’s Award – Melissa Price

Varsity Boys Tennis

MVP – Nikita Zinovyev

Coach’s Award – Cory Burke

Varsity Softball

Co-MVP – Corynn Miner, Alina Dixon

Coach’s Award – Maiya Fudge

Varsity Track & Field Boys

MVP – Alex Gray

Coach’s Award – Dontell Green

Varsity Track & Field Girls

MVP – Ashaunti Brown

Coach’s Award – Jazmine Alderman