Lower School Assembly – February 1, 2019

February 1, 2019 – Assembly

Presented by Head of Lower School, Mrs. Anita Fine. View more pictures of the assembly.

Pledge – Max Salebra

Character Word for February is “Integrity”

4th grade read Integrity poem

Deputy Tony LoRusso spoke about “Integrity”.

Deputy LoRusso has been a police officer with the Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office for 20 years. He has been a K9 Handler for 15 of those years and is also a state & nationally certified K9 Trainer. He is married to Mrs. LoRusso (STEM teacher) and they have two daughters, Angela & Julia. Deputy LoRusso has been a wrestling coach here at Admiral Farragut Academy for several years and frequently volunteers his time for various events at the school.  

May I please have all Student Council come up. President Sophia Raymer and Vice President Grace Vernine will tell us about the upcoming project, Operation Gratitude.

PreK-7th Grade will be making and writing Valentine’s letters and letters of appreciation to our soldiers currently serving overseas.  The Valentine’s and letters will be written in students Language Arts classes and are due by February 13th. Student Council will be sending them overseas once they are all completed. (During assembly Student Council K-7th will be showing examples of the Valentines and letters they have written). 


Mrs. Reynolds and Mrs. Genzel presented Safety Patrol awards and promotions.

  • Golden Star Safety Patrol Awards: Katie Lynch, Alexandra Wallace, Sienna Menchaca, Sumayah Lewis-McIntosh
  • Golden Star Safety Patrol Award & Ranking up:  Luci Passarelli & Sophia Bourque both promoted to CAPTAINS
  • Top Performer Awards & Ranking up: Leah VanArsdale (Sargeant), Bella Reynolds to CAPTAIN

Ms. Morris – Battle of Books team and Readers’ Party announcement:

The Battle of the Books team members: Sophia Preston (Captain), Christopher Giblin, Carlos Bonilla, Peter Vaughn, and Polina Creadon.

The readers who are eligible for the 3 Book Readers’ Party are: Polina Creadon, Bailey Reynolds, Carlos Bonilla, Chris Giblin, Sophia Preston, Danielle Larrinaga, Leah VanArsdale, Nour and Jana Fackih, Benjamin and Bennett Deskovich Simay Dykes, Ellie Stone, Dylan Harper, and Peter Vaughn

Mrs. LoRusso, Mr. Sadler and the Lego Robotics Club:

Galactic Narwhals Thank you for your participation. You did a great job!

  • Ethan Creadon
  • Chris Giblin
  • Katie Lynch
  • Leah Van Arsdale
  • Jacob Arias
  • Hans Renlund
  • Lars Renlund
  • Rodney Henry
  • Niko Panuthos


The Farragut Astros qualified to move on to the regional tournament in February. Please congratulate:

  • Tyler Hollan
  • Christopher Chan
  • Jett Caisse
  • Isaac Mariscal
  • Zachary Vaughn
  • Saige Jeffers
  • Allister Nasr
  • Gregory Ransone
  • Sophia Preston
  • Nour Fackih

It was our 100th day of school!

Kindergarten and 1st grade showed off their decorated 100th-day hats and crowns.